FORUM Forums Products CLSE-Yoke HW Trimming Issues

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    wazooda
    Participant

For the life of me, I can’t find a trimming setting that works well.

I generally fly the A2A C172 with hardware trim selected and trim assigned to the left rocker switch.

The problem I’m having is if I try to trim, for example, to level flight.

I apply back pressure to the yoke until I get zero VS, and then I quickly press and release the rocker switch. Usually, I don’t feel and relief of pressure on the first press or two. However, when I do, it usually feels like a “jump” and thus, if I’m applying back pressure on the yoke and press down trim, it over compensate and the plan starts a descent.

Any tips or suggestions for getting this to work better? I’m a real world pilot, and trimming my 172 is *infinitely* easier.

Thanks,

Paul

sbrunner
    Keymaster

Hi Paul

Which Profil you are using, can you upload your profile to the new Profil Cloud so we can have a look

Regards

Stefan Brunner

wazooda
    Participant

Hey Stefan,

Actually, I’m using your C-172 SP profile. 🙂

I messed with the Velocity setting under the trim and brought the speed down from 50 (default) to under 10.

This enables better fine tuning…. but I’m still only getting marginal tactile feedback…. and it takes much longer to trim.

Which, I guess, begs a question about what *should* I be feeling in the best case scenario?

One of the challenges, of course, is only having ever felt *my* yolk so I have nothing to compare it to.

Thus, assuming velocity is set at 50, flying an A2A C172 in P3D and having to apply back pressure to the yoke to remain in level flight… should I feel *some* relief in the back pressure when I push the trim rocker…. or does it have to hit some value before the yoke takes over some of the load?